News & Announcements

Affin Hwang, Credit Suisse named Best Equities Participating Organisations
April 05, 2016 | Publication : The Star Online

KUALA LUMPUR: Affin Hwang Investment Bank Bhd emerged as the champion in the 2015 Best Equities Participating Organisation (Investment Bank) category at the third annual Broker Awards organised by Bursa Malaysia.

The securities exchange operator said in a statement that Credit Suisse Securities (M) Sdn Bhd, meanwhile, topped the Best Equities Participating Organisation category for non-investment banks.

Runners up for investment banks were CIMB Investment Bank Bhd and Kenanga investment Bank Bhd, while runners up for non-investment banks were Macquarie Capital Securities (M) Sdn Bhd and UBS Securities Malaysia Sdn Bhd.

The Broker Awards recognised brokers for their contributions and achievements in building a more sustainable and inclusive capital market.

The 2015 Best Derivatives Trading Participant’s winners were Kenanga Deutsche Futures Sdn Bhd (champion), TA Futures Sdn Bhd (first runner up) and CIMB Futures Sdn Bhd (second runner up).


The champion for 2015 Best Domestic Commodity Trading Participants was Maybank Islamic Bank, with Bank Islam Malaysia Bhd and Bank Kerjasama Rakyat Malaysia Bhd being the first and second runner up, respectively.

The Best Foreign Commodity Trading Participants winners were all from Saudi Arabia: Alinma Bank (champion), Bank Al-Bilad (first runner up) and Al-Rajhi Bank (second runner up).

The Syariah-Compliant Exchange Traded Fund Issuer 2015 award went to i-VCAP Management Sdn Bhd, and the Syariah-Compliant Real Estate Investment Trust Fund Issuer 2015 was clinched by Johor Corp.

Bursa Malaysia chief executive officer Datuk Seri Tajuddin Atan said the Broker Awards was an opportunity for the exchange to recognise the efforts and achievements made in the broking industry over the past year.

“It is also an occasion to take stock of where we are in relation to our objectives and consider new areas in which we can improve and collaborate,” he said.

This year the awards were broadened to 25 categories from 18 last year.